What are the York Simplified Classics

Introduction | Reader Contents | Integrated Activity Book

• York Simplified Classics is a series of graded readers with integrated activities for students learning English as a foreign language
• The series has been fully revised to align with CEFR levels from A2 to C1
• Five levels of graded readers offer students the opportunity to read short stories, famous novels and iconic plays from British and American literature
• The readers include stories from Charles Dickens, Mark Twain, Lewis Carroll, Charlotte Brontë, Anthony Hope, Anna Sewell and William Shakespeare

What’s in the reader?

All the readers contain certain key features:

• Introduction with information about the author and the setting of the story
• Carefully written and structured text, graded for each level
• Engaging illustrations that help to clarify the storyline

The Levels

Level 1 – CEFR A2 / Cambridge Flyer
Titles include A Christmas Carol, Black Beauty, Heidi, The Prince and the Pauper and Robinson Crusoe

Level 2 – CEFR A2-B1 / Cambridge Key exam
Titles include Around the World in 80 Days, Huckleberry Finn, Shirley and Treasure Island

Level 3 – CEFR B1 / Cambridge Preliminary exam
Titles include Gulliver’s Travels, Jane Eyre, Oliver Twist and The Woman in White.

Level 4 – CEFR B1-B2 / Cambridge Preliminary and First Certificate exams
Titles include A Tale of Two Cities, Tales from Shakespeare and More Tales from Shakespeare

Level 5 – CEFR Levels B2-C1 / Cambridge First Certificate exam
Titles include Great Expectations and King Lear.